Arts Advocate Awards

About the Award

The purpose of the Ravenswood Arts Advocate Award is to publicly thank individuals, businesses and organizations who are advocates for the continued viability of artists working in the Ravenswood neighborhood.

Nominations for the 2015 RAW Arts Advocate Award will be open in the Spring. Subscribe to our newsletter for up-to-date- news and alerts about the 2015 Ravenswood ArtWalk.

Previous Recipients


  • Judith Roth (RAW Founder, Artist, Past President of CWCA)


  • Richard Stromberg (Artist, Founder of Richard Stromberg’s Chicago Photography Classes)


  • 47th Ward Alderman Ameya Pawar
  • Alexandra Jamroz (Artist, Former RAW Board Member)


  • Bruce Robbins (Founder and CEO of Lillstreet Art Center)
  • Emily Rapport (artist, former RAW Executive Director, 2006-07)


  • James Bau Graves (Artist, Executive Director of the Old Town School of Folk Music)
  • John Wertymer (Owner, Cornelia Arts Building)


  • Joe Hayes (Owner, Hayes Properties): Historical Preservation Award
  • Nicole Hollander (Cartoonist, Writer): Lifetime Achievement Award
  • William Conger (Artist): Lifetime Achievement Award


  • Former 47th Ward Alderman Gene Schulter
  • JARC (Jane Addams Resource Center)
  • Café 28 (accepted by Rick Miranda)


  • Deborah Maris Lader (Founder, Chicago Printmakers Collaborative)
  • Richard Lange


  • Peter Jones (artist)
  • Maria Kolb (Building Owner/Unicut)
  • Café Selmarie (co-owners Jeanne Uzdawinis and Birgit Kobayashi)